McMahon Medal/Tony Wakefield Medal/MVP Vote Count
Date of event: Saturday March 4, 2017 7:30AM

With yet another home and away season drawing to a close, it is once more time for one of the biggest nights on the EBCC calendar with the 2016/17 McMahon Medal.

After another successful season full of memorable performances, who will take home the ultimate prize? Will either of last year's winners Dave Lineen or Matt Lineker be able to make it three wins in a row? Or will Andrew Baars' make history by becoming the first ever four-time winner? Or will skipper Sean O'Neill's 500 run season be enough to see him claim Rocket for the first time?

For our 2nds, the night will carry added significance, as for the very first time, their MVP will be decided not by a points formula, but by umpire voting. And in conju...nction with the change to the format of the award, the club has struck a brand new medal, named after club legend Tony Wakefield. It is set to be a tight vote count for the new award's inaugural year, with a number of players potentially able to claim the medal.

Of course there is also the MVP to be presented for the 3rds to the 6ths, which offers a fantastic chance to recognise and celebrate the outstanding individual performances from throughout the season.

We strongly encourage all players and supporters of the club to make every effort to attend the night, as the night holds special significance for the club, and is one which we go out of our way to celebrate. It would also be greatly appreciated if all players could please make the effort to have their raffle tickets and money returned ASAP (Thursday night after training if at all possible), as the raffle will be drawn on the night, with a $500 Belmont Stereos voucher, $200 De Grandi voucher and $50 Waurn Ponds Hotel voucher on offer for the winners.

See you all there following Saturday's games for a terrific evening!

Last updated: Wednesday August 16, 2017 4:40PM